Kimberly Lau

Education: California Polytechnic State University: Bachelors of Science degree in Business Administration (concentrations in Managing People & Technology and Marketing Management)UCLA Extension (emphasis in Accounting)

Family: My boyfirend Morgan, and dog, Kobe. My Mom, Dad and Sister live in Fresno.

What did you do before the Garabedian Group? I was an Accreditation Coordinator for the Dept. of Public Utilities at the City of Fresno, as well as an Accounting Intern at another local CPA firm.

What qualities does it take to work at an accounting firm and what can you tell me about the team that works with you? Working at TGG takes someone willing to embrace change and break away from the mold of a traditional accounting firm. Encouraging our team to think outside of the box is something that I believe sets us apart from many other firms. We've developed a highly progressive team who is always striving for the best, and we are always able to have fun in whatever we do.

What’s the most rewarding part of what you do? The most rewarding part of my job is watching our clients progress as they grow their businesses and improve their quality of lives. It's amazing to see how far many of our clients have come.

What innovations in the accounting world are you most excited about? As many accounting processes have already become streamlined with innovative technological advances, I'm excited to see what new revolutions are developed in the accounting industry in the next 5-10 years. The possibilities are endless.

What do you feel you have accomplished and what would you still like to accomplish in life? I've accomplished a lot in my career ever since I started working at TGG. I think the most important thing is that I've been able to establish a good work-life balance. I still would like to start my own family one day too, but not just yet !

What got you interested in becoming an accountant? I've always enjoyed working with numbers, but I honestly never thought I'd be an accountant. The right opportunity came up in this field and taking it was the best decision I have ever made.

What was your first job and what did you learn from it? My first job was in retail. The most important thing I learned was that working hard and providing exceptional customer service will get you far in any career. Smiling a lot helps too.

What are your roots in the San Joaquin Valley? I was born and raised in Fresno. I left the area for college but somehow made it back. I love it here. It's home.

What do you do in your spare time? When I'm not studying for my CPA exam, I am spending time with my family and friends. I love to travel.