Jason Morris

Follow @JasonMTGG

Education: I have a Bachelors degree from Fresno State in Business Administration - Accountancy.

Family: My wife and I have been married since 2009 and we have 2 daughters that keep us busy and happy.

What did you do before the Garabedian Group? I worked in public accounting for about 5 years prior to joining The Garabedian Group, doing various things from professional services to firm administration.

What qualities does it take to work at an accounting firm? I think it requires a high degree of devotion and dedication to its customers. They are the reason we come to work each day and without that dedication we wouldn't be pushing ourselves to become better and more proficient in our work. 

What’s the most rewarding part of what you do? The most rewarding part is to see our customers flourish in their businesses and their own lives. Its not always “just about the numbers”, and it is great to see how we can have an impact on other businesses in our community.

What innovations in the accounting world are you most excited about? As technology is changing and evolving, so are the way that accounting firms do their work. These same evolutions are happening with our customers, so it is great that we are able to provide solutions to our clients that leverage that emerging technology to help them better manage their businesses.

What do you feel you have accomplished and what would you still like to accomplish in life? I think my biggest accomplishment so far has been marrying the love of my life and starting such an amazing family together. We still have many milestones to reach and I am looking forward to each

What got you interested in becoming an accountant? My brother is a CPA and he gave me the bug. Once I began looking into career options in accounting I knew it would be a great fit, and I haven't looked back since.

What was your first job and what did you learn from it? My first job was delivering newspapers for the Fresno Bee. I learned to never throw newspapers on rollerblades at 5AM when the sidewalks are still icy. I also learned that a job might not be easy, or the most convenient, but if you put in 100% you will be rewarded.

What are your roots in the San Joaquin Valley? I was born and have lived most of my life here in Fresno. However I was lucky enough to be able to live in Rancagua, Chile and Dubai, UAE both for a few years. It has made me very appreciative of all the things we enjoy here in California.

What do you do in your spare time? Besides spending time with family, I have played drums since elementary school, and have been dragged behind boats at the lake since I can remember. Whenever I have spare time there is usually no problem filling it with some type of fun.