Aaron Garabedian, CPA, CGMA

Follow @AaronTGG

Education: CSU Fresno - Bachelors of Science in Accountancy - Graduated Summa cum laude.

Family:  Dale and Kandy Garabedian, Lauren and Jon Ruff & Peedee my dog.

What did you do before the Garabedian Group? I worked in the assurance and attestation department of Deloitte. I also worked for Bordcart, Carona & Feath (local Fresno CPA firm) while in college.

What qualities does it take to work at an accounting firm and what can you tell me about the team that works with you? Well I believe that one of the reasons our firm is so successful is due to the fact that we look for different qualities in candidates than most firms.  We don't have a "head's down" or hierarchical structure.  We promote creativity and allow all staff to challenge all norms at every level to innovate.  We look for people who fit with our culture and have an inner drive.  As a side note, we have an awesome team that works hard and plays hard too.   

What’s the most rewarding part of what you do? Helping clients in any way we can. It can be a simple as helping them understand their financial data or taxes, or as hard as helping them assess their business model and what possibilities they haven't yet explored.

What innovations in the accounting world are you most excited about?  # 1 Technology and the ability to work from almost anywhere, # 2 Accountants (CPAs) moving from being number crunchers and providing "compliance" services, to trusted and valued advisors to their clients.

What do you feel you have accomplished and what would you still like to accomplish in life? Passing the CPA exam and building a portion of our business that has saved clients millions of dollars in taxes.  I am now playing a more in-depth role in helping clients manage their wealth and prepare for retirement through financial planning. 

What got you interested in becoming an accountant? I have always been interested in the entrepreneurial side of business and it made sense to me that if accounting is the language of business, it wouldn't hurt to be an expert at it. 

What was your first job and what did you learn from it? I worked at a car wash when I was 15.  I learned that manual labor is hard and it's hot in Fresno.  I also learned that you can meet some real characters at a car wash.

What are your roots in the San Joaquin Valley? Family, school, business, etc.  Pretty much whole life.  My grandparents and great grandparents were raisin farmers.

What do you do in your spare time? I play lots of golf, volunteer and serve on the advisory board for The University of California Master Gardener Program, ride my motorcycle, snowboard, wakeboard, work in my garden garden, and exercise.